Links: Mostly Romance & Entertainment News
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 17, 2019

RWA kicks off next week in New York! If you’re going, Sarah, Aarya, and I will be there. For Aarya and I, it’s our first RWA, so we will be the ones looking a little lost. Don’t be afraid to say hello! I always like meeting people from the site. You all are awesome! … Sarah was a guest on Book Riot’s romance podcast, When in Romance with Jess and Trisha. I know and love all three of these women. Don’t miss this one! … Speaking of podcasts, I’m a guest on this week’s Smart Women Read Romance and we’re discussing a book I really enjoyed: Polaris Rising. Give it a listen and go show the podcast some love! 🌟New Episode🌟 We’re so excited to chat with @_ImAnAdult about Polaris Rising by @jessiemihalik 👑 Badass space princess🌌 Sexy intergalactic fugitive🛸 A romantic adventure where the hero is saved by the heroine Apple Podcasthttps://t.co/K1qFL0tvpS pic.twitter.com/IFaCnsZAJe — Smart Women Read Romance (@swreadrom) July 17, 2019 … If you’re attending RWA or are local to NYC, Sarah is hosting a game night at The Strand bookstore with a fabulous roster of romance authors. There is an admission price, but you get that back in a gift card. ……

Mindy Kaling, Historical Romance, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 17, 2019

The Widow The Widow by Fiona Barton is $1.99! This is a thriller that Elyse really enjoyed! It earned an A grade as a Lightning Review: I don’t want to say much more about this book because it will ruin it–that’s why I opted for a lightning review even though I could talk about the The Widow for hours. I want every reader to experience the delicious twists and turns this thriller offers. For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife. When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen… But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore. There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment. Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story….

The Scandalous Suffragette by Eliza Redgold
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 17, 2019

C The Scandalous Suffragette by Eliza Redgold April 1, 2019 · Harlequin Historical Romance The Scandalous Suffragette is about a young woman who literally falls into the arms of a young man and ends up turning him and his sisters into either suffragists or suffragettes (more on the distinction later). She’s the heir to a chocolate factory, and he’s the heir to a crumbling family estate. It’s a promising combination, although it also made me oddly stressed and a bit disappointed. Violet Coombes is the only child of doting parents. Her father owns Coombes Chocolate, a business that has made the family extremely rich. Now they want to help Violet find a good husband – but this seems almost impossible when she attracts scandal by hanging a suffragette banner in a most unfortunate location during her first ball. Luckily, Adam Beaufort is at the ball – and, unbeknownst to her parents, he met Violet previously when Violet tried to hang a suffragette banner from his house (she thought it was the gentlemen’s club, which was actually next door). He has an estate (Beauley Manor), a widowed mother, and two sisters, and he can’t support any of them. When Violet is…

HaBO: Arranged Marriages and Sex Under a Tree
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 16, 2019

This HaBO is from Lita, who is hoping to find this historical romance: I’m looking for a romance book. I think it was historical romance. It featured a young woman who had two (I think) arranged marriages. One of the husbands died due to illness. I think there was a scene where she had sex under a tree. It was the first romance I ever read (in middle school, sneaking it from my mother’s room and reading a few pages at a time in the bathroom). I know of a similar title but the timeline doesn’t match. Oh well!

Tonight at 8pm ET: Sarah on Vokl
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 16, 2019

Tonight at 8pm ET, I’ll be interviewed on GetVokl’s Behind the Podcast, answering questions about podcasting and whatever else they ask me. I’m in the first half hour, and then host Adamo Barbieri will be interviewing Zibby Owens from the “Moms Don’t Have Time to Read Books” podcast. Then there’s a live Q&A, so if you’ve got questions, you can ask! You can watch live tonight at 8pm ET at GetVokl.com. See you then!

Ilona Andrews, Grace Burrowes, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 16, 2019

Furiously Happy RECOMMENDED: Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson is $2.99! It’s a Kindle Daily Deal and is being price-matched. Elyse loved this book and how it helped her deal with chronic pain. She gave it an A: Furiously Happy is a rare book, a combination of ridiculous humor and poignant reflection. I think anyone who has suffered from a stigmatized illness will identify with Lawson’s honest, sometimes heartbreaking, description of her own pain. = For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling-the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Let’s Pretend This Never Happened… In Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist. In her new book,Furiously Happy, Jenny explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best. According to Jenny: “Some people might think that being ‘furiously happy’ is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he’s never particularly…

HaBO: Historical Romance with Public Spanking
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 16, 2019

This HaBO request comes from Diana, who is looking for this historical romance: I’m wondering if you could help me with this because I’ve had no luck for months!!! I’ve read this over 10 years ago and so the details are a little fuzzy. It’s a historical romance novel (Julie Garwood-style but I don’t think that’s the author). I’m 95% sure it was set in the Highlands. I only remember that at the very beginning, the two main characters met when she was a child and he was like a teenager (it might have been a festival) and she was being really bratty and he ended up spanking her in front of everyone (friends/family). I want to say that their fathers were friends and that she had tracked mud into the tent/grand hall or something. It sounds weird but I remember getting a huge laugh out of it and that’s all I can remember. Who knows this one?

Salvation Day by Kali Wallace
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 16, 2019

B+ Salvation Day by Kali Wallace July 9, 2019 · Berkley HorrorScience Fiction/Fantasy CW/TW: This book is incredibly gross and gory and features murder and self-harm by way of a deadly space disease. Salvation Day was exactly the book I was searching for. It’s the fucked-up space horror I’d been trying and failing to find for weeks. Though not without its faults, it reminds me very much of the Alien franchise. That’s a good thing because I love those movies (and the video game) very much. Two people whose pasts are intertwined are left stranded aboard a ship where hundreds of people were massacred by a mysterious illness ten years ago. The House of Wisdom was a large research vessel investigating a message leftover from a previous Earth civilization. They assumed those people found another sustainable planet following the Collapse and were alerting others to their discovery. Within a day, everyone on board began dying, turning violent toward one another or themselves. However, the world doesn’t know this. The governing Councils put out a statement that a disease was released onboard by a disgruntled scientist, Dr. Lago. The only survivor of the House of Wisdom was a young boy named Jaswinder Bhattacharya,…

Goblins, a Set of Historical Romances, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 15, 2019

Emergency Contact Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi is $2.99 at Amazon! This is a Kindle Daily Deal and hasn’t been price-matched yet. This book is really adorable and the cover is gorgeous. Readers loved how the friendship between the two awkward main characters unfolded. However, some readers felt the heroine, Penny, was rather unlikeable. From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind. Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right…

Caption That Cover: Beware!
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / July 15, 2019

The caption contest is back and just in time for some late summer reading! Why are we bewaring the rich man? Is it because he’s about to ruin this woman’s perfectly good and probably expensive dress? Here are the rules for captioning that cover: Comment below with your caption! Caption that cover however you wish! You can come up with a new title or tagline. A winner will be randomly selected at the end of the contest! The best captioner will receive a $10 bookstore credit to a book retailer of their choosing. Standard disclaimers apply: We are not being compensated for this giveaway. Void where prohibited. Open to international residents where permitted by applicable law. Must be over 18. Be sure you have fresh batteries in your fire alarms. And remember, only you can prevent dress fires! Comments will close Friday July 19, 2019 around noon ET, and a winner will be announced shortly thereafter. Best of luck!