3 Kindle Daily Deals & a Cowboy

May 14, 2020

Into the Drowning Deep

RECOMMENDED: Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant is $2.99! This is a Kindle Daily Deal and it’s being price-matched. Elyse & I really enjoyed this horror/sci-fi novel. We jointly reviewed the book and ultimately decided on a B. We loved the cast of characters, but found the ending anticlimactic.

New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant, author of the renowned Newsflesh series, returns with a novel that takes us to a new world of ancient mysteries and mythological dangers come to life. 

Seven years ago, the Atargatis set off on a voyage to the Mariana Trench to film a “mockumentary” bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. It was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a hoax; others have called it a maritime tragedy.

Now, a new crew has been assembled. But this time they’re not out to entertain. Some seek to validate their life’s work. Some seek the greatest hunt of all. Some seek the truth. But for the ambitious young scientist Victoria Stewart this is a voyage to uncover the fate of the sister she lost.

Whatever the truth may be, it will only be found below the waves.

But the secrets of the deep come with a price.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

The Invisible Library

RECOMMENDED: The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman is $2.99! Another Kindle Daily Deal. This is a fantasy novel that Carrie really enjoyed. She graded it a B+:

While I genuinely loved the characters and concepts of the book, it’s played strictly for fun adventure. It’s basically just an excuse to have smart people fight cyborg alligators in a ballroom and werewolves in a museum. It’s smart, well-written fluff and I ate it up with a spoon.

Collecting books can be a dangerous prospect in this fun, time-traveling, fantasy adventure from a spectacular debut author.
 
One thing any Librarian will tell you: the truth is much stranger than fiction…

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, a shadowy organization that collects important works of fiction from all of the different realities. Most recently, she and her enigmatic assistant Kai have been sent to an alternative London. Their mission: Retrieve a particularly dangerous book. The problem: By the time they arrive, it’s already been stolen.

London’s underground factions are prepared to fight to the death to find the tome before Irene and Kai do, a problem compounded by the fact that this world is chaos-infested—the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic to run rampant. To make matters worse, Kai is hiding something—secrets that could be just as volatile as the chaos-filled world itself.

Now Irene is caught in a puzzling web of deadly danger, conflicting clues, and sinister secret societies. And failure is not an option—because it isn’t just Irene’s reputation at stake, it’s the nature of reality itself…

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Torn

Torn by Rowenna Miller is $2.99 and a Kindle Daily Deal! This is a fantasy novel with a seamstress main character. Not sure if this is YA though, I don’t think it is. Carrie read this one and gave it a C+. The pacing was too slow for her, but it’s possible future books may pick up in momentum:

This book is the first in a new series. It has a lot of potential – good technical writing, multiple female characters, discussion of class and class mobility, clothes porn, and more. If other books pick up the pace, it could be great, but this first book was too slow to keep me invested.

TORN is the first book in an enchanting debut fantasy series featuring a seamstress who stitches magic into clothing, and the mounting political uprising that forces her to choose between her family and her ambitions, for fans of The Queen of the Tearling.

Sophie is a dressmaker who has managed to open her own shop and lift herself and her brother, Kristos, out of poverty. Her reputation for beautiful ball gowns and discreetly-embroidered charms for luck, love, and protection secures her a commission from the royal family itself — and the commission earns her the attentions of a dashing but entirely unattainable duke.

Meanwhile, Kristos rises to prominence in the growing anti-monarchist movement. Their worlds collide when the revolution’s shadow leader takes him hostage and demands that Sophie place a curse on the queen’s Midwinter costume — or Kristos will die at their hand.

As the proletariat uprising comes to a violent climax, Sophie is torn: between her brother and the community of her birth, and her lover and the life she’s striven to build.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Lost Rider

Lost Rider by Harper Sloan is $1.99 at Amazon! It’s possible this is a leftover deal from yesterday and could be ending super soon. This is the first book in the Coming Home contemporary western series. This contains one of my least favorite tropes which is the “best friend’s little sister,” but that may be your catnip. It has a 3.8+ star average on Goodreads.

In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *