Wine, Hockey, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / April 18, 2020

Pretty Face Pretty Face by Lucy Parker is $3.99! This is the second book in a series, the first book we featured a couple weeks ago. Sarah read this one and though she didn’t squee over it as much as she did with Act Like It by Lucy Parker, the book still earned a B: The theme of this book, of choosing difficult happiness and fulfillment over worrying what people will say about your choices, is a terrific, nuanced one for a romance. Richard summarizing the meaning of that theme while talking about stage performance was one of the best parts of the book for me. Highly acclaimed, award-winning author of Act Like It Lucy Parker returns readers to the London stage with laugh-out-loud wit and plenty of drama The play’s the fling It’s not actress Lily Lamprey’s fault that she’s all curves and has the kind of voice that can fog up a camera lens. She wants to prove where her real talents lie—and that’s not on a casting couch, thank you. When she hears esteemed director Luc Savage is renovating a legendary West End theater for a lofty new production, she knows it could be her chance—if only Luc wasn’t so dictatorial,…

Book Beat: The Circus, Fake Relationships, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / April 18, 2020

Welcome to Book Beat! Think of Book Beat as Hide Your Wallet, Part Two! In Hide Your Wallet, we talk about books coming out in a particular month that we really want to read. But there’s more to good books than just new releases! Book Beat aims to highlight other books that we may hear about through friends, social media, or other sources. We could see a gorgeous ad! Or find a new-to-us author on a list of underrated romances! Think of Book Beat as Teen Beat or Tiger Beat, but for books. And no staples to open to get the fold-out poster. This time around, I only selected books that are currently out since I know we’re all stocking up on reading materials.  After the Eclipse Author: Fran Dorricott Released: March 5, 2019 by Titan Books Genre: LGBTQIA, Mystery/Thriller A stunning psychological thriller about loss, sisterhood, and the evil that men do, for readers of Ruth Ware and S.K. Tremeyne Two solar eclipses. Two missing girls. Sixteen years ago a little girl was abducted during the darkness of a solar eclipse while her older sister Cassie was supposed to be watching her. She was never seen again. When a local girl…

A Thing I Like: The BENQ e-Reading Desk Lamp
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / April 18, 2020

It’s not quite Stuff We Like, as it is One Thing I Like that I Was Sent for review, but if you’d like to read how much I really like the BenQ e-Reading Lamp, clickity click to head over to the review. Yup. Lamp review! A preview of this incredible tale of confusion, with bonus dog pic inside: Two things happened. I worried that I wouldn’t have much to say about a lamp. The lamp arrived and every single human in my house said either, ‘Wait, you got a LAMP to review?’ And, ‘That’s not a book. That’s a lamp.’ Bonus points for, “Did you start a lamp blog?” Okay, that was three things, but whatever. Read on for this scintillating tale!