Links: The Ripped Bodice Diversity Report, KitchenAid, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / March 11, 2020

Hey, everyone! It’s quite an interesting time to exist on this earth. There are lots of things to worry about, namely the upcoming election and COVID-19. I want to stress how important it is to take care of yourself physically, mentally, and emotionally. Breaks from social media have helped me. For physical stuff, do some social distancing if you can (read some books!) and keep washing those hands! Stay safe out there, friends! … Think dogs get all the love when it comes to book covers? Here are some books (mainly romances) that let cats have the spotlight! … The Ripped Bodice has released their 2019 Diversity Report. The diversity percentage for every 100 books published is the highest it’s been since The Ripped Bodice started their report, but it’s still under 10%, which is not great at all. … As someone who owns a KitchenAid stand mixer (thanks, Sarah!), I so enjoyed Roxane Gay’s love letter to her own KitchenAid. … McSweeney’s takes a satirical look at the personal essay. I do love reading personal essays, but admittedly there is a common theme. … Need some brightness in your day? Zoe sent over this adorable Twitter thread about women in…

Fantasy Romance, Lisa Kleypas, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / March 11, 2020

Empire of Sand Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri is $2.99! I believe this is part of today’s Kindle Daily Deals. This is an adult fantasy novel with some romantic elements. Though this is marketed as adult fantasy, some readers it felt like it was more YA. Empire of Sand has been on my TBR pile for a while; have you read this one? Aarya highly recommends it. A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy. The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited. When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda. Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance… Empire of Sand is a lush, dazzling fantasy novel perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn….

Elyse Watches The Bachelor–S24 E12: Sweet Mercy, It’s Over
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / March 11, 2020

We’ve arrived at the end of Peter’s “journey” to find love, and only one woman is willing to shackle herself to this guy. Hannah Ann and Peter are in Australia where he will, presumably, propose to her since she’s literally the only one left. My friend April stopped by and, against all better judgement, is sticking around to watch the finale despite not having seen any other episodes. Pour yourself a stiff drink. Here we go. We open in a studio in LA where Chris Harrison emerges from a secret chamber hidden in the floor. Chris tells us that no one, not him, not the producers, not the women, not Peter’s family, and not even Peter know how tonight is going to end. I would also be happy not knowing how tonight ends, but I am here for you, Bitchery. Then we go back to Australia and there’s a lot of footage of Peter looking wistfully into the distance. He says he knows he has true love with Hannah Ann and that he’s found his person. Neil Lane shows up to Peter’s room and he picks out an engagement ring. “I’m choosing Hannah Ann because I’m 100% certain and I…