Christina Lauren, Historical Fiction, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / February 10, 2020

Get a Life, Chloe Brown RECOMMENDED: Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert is $2.99! Kiki really loved this one and gave it an A: Get a Life, Chloe Brown saw my expectations’ proffered hand and kissed it gently, and then proceeded to charm their pants off. In a tent. With s’mores. (Not with s’mores, because s’mores apparently are not a thing in the UK.) This metaphor got away from me, but you get the idea. This book is outstanding. Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang. Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items? Enjoy a drunken night out. Ride a motorcycle. Go camping. Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex. Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage. And…do something bad….

Guest Review: House Rules by Ruby Lang
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / February 10, 2020

B+ House Rules by Ruby Lang February 10, 2020 · Carina Press Contemporary RomanceNovellaRomance We have another review from Carole! If you missed her amazing review of Hearts on Hold, have a look! Carole is a Jamaican immigrant, a lover of politics and popular culture, a Tar Heel by way of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Media and Journalism, and a die hard, unrepentant bookworm. She teaches, researches and writes about media and society, politics, and public opinion. She’s most interested in how gender, race and sexual identity shape how we see, navigate and live in the world. Her upcoming book The Politics of Interracial Romance in American Film, is a comprehensive analysis of the representation, reception and social and political significance of Black-White romantic narratives in American film. … CW: Discussions of endometriosis and infertility. House Rules is a second chance romance involving a long estranged divorced couple who reunite as roommates, cohabiting a beautiful brownstone apartment in a highly sought Manhattan neighborhood that neither one of them could never afford on their own. That may sound unlikely. But it’s not quite as bonkers if you’ve ever lived the frustration of a New York…

Cover Snark: Never Forget Sunscreen
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / February 10, 2020

Sometimes it feels so long since the last Cover Snark and sometimes it feels like it was just yesterday! From Vestusta: Came across this while checking out library books the other day and I am highly amused by that tattoo placement relative to his nipple. Epic duckface? Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer? Sarah: Even the panther looks confused. Catherine: Rudolph the red nosed reindeer had some very fancy 80s eye makeup. Elyse: Oh man that tattoo is just made of regret. Amanda: Definitely can’t unsee the reindeer face. Elyse: That’s like the tattoo they use in an ad for laser tattoo removal. Tara: That cat looks like it’s just going to turn to the camera and start talking like Salem from the 90s version of Sabrina Charlotte B: I thought the eyes were the nipples of the face. How am I to interpret this? The panther is definitely wondering what it did in a former life to deserve this. Catherine: So is the tattoo. It has exactly the same pained expression on its face. Charlotte B: The tattoo is definitely silently judging him…for the rest of his life. Lara: Are the claw marks also a tattoo? Or a scar? If he’s…