HaBO: Hero & Heroine Meet at a Reservation Event
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / December 17, 2019

This HaBO is from Lucy, who searched her entire Kindle for this romance with no luck: I’ve been through my entire Kindle backlog with no success in finding this book, so I’m not certain I even owned it. I know I didn’t get far into the book, so what I do remember is not very Google-able. I don’t know when it was published, but I have a feeling it was definitely within the last ten years. What I remember from it was that the heroine arrives in a town (near to a reservation, I presume) and is there for a specific reason, like a new job or something. There is some event going on. I think one which is specifically Native American, and there are a group of (I think all male) people performing a traditional Native American dance for a crowd of onlookers. One of the men has a very strong presence and sense of authority about him and she is drawn to him, but intimidated by the way he keeps looking over at her without attempting to hide his interest and by his apparent self-assuredness. I seem to remember that despite his interest, he is standoffish towards her…

Dogs, Madeline Hunter, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / December 17, 2019

We Set the Dark on Fire RECOMMENDED: We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia is $1.99! This is a YA fantasy novel and Elyse gave this one a perfect grade. That’s right, it earned an A and it’s on sale: The bottom line is, We Set the Dark on Fire has elements that I love–women coming together to dismantle the patriarchy, rebellion, secret affairs, and it’s written so superbly that I found myself relishing every chapter. There’s always an element of danger, of being found out, hovering in the background that carried a wonderful tension through the entire novel. In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival. At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class. Daniela Vargas is the…

HaBO: One Shoulder Blue Dress
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / December 17, 2019

This HaBO comes from Jessica, who says this one is Regency romance: I was referred here from a book group on Facebook bc I’m trying to find back a book with no success…yet! Here’s what I remember: The heroine is first introduced wearing a one shoulder blue dress at a house party/weekend party where she meets the hero. They bump into each other a few times after that. There is a nasty girl who decides to send notes to both but address them as one from the heroine to heroine and one from a cousin, I think to heroine. They get busted together and tada scandal. It had an HEA but I’m fuzzy on the details there. Any help is greatly appreciated. This is a tough one, Bitchery!

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / December 17, 2019

B- Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho September 1, 2015 · Ace RomanceScience Fiction/Fantasy Do you ever read a Georgette Heyer novel and think, “Man, that was great but I wish it had magic and also, like, maybe some diversity in the main characters”? If so, do I have a book for you! Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho is the first book in a series of the same name. It’s half Regency romance, half political intrigue, and half biting commentary on British colonialism. (Yes, I know that’s more than two halves. Shhhhh. You don’t come to me for math.) The book is set in an alternate England that draws magic from its border with Fairyland. In addition to using their own magic, humans can form bonds with fae creatures known as ‘familiars’ to become powerful sorcerers. However, power-hungry British magicians have exploited and kidnapped so many familiars that the Queen of Fairyland sealed the border against them. Without access to Fairy, England’s magic is fading, fast. The Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers (AKA thaumaturges, AKA upper-class White dudes with magic) is scrambling to find out what’s going on and keep the loss of their magic a secret….