The Coroner’s Daughter by Andrew Hughes
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / October 19, 2019

A The Coroner’s Daughter by Andrew Hughes May 9, 2017 · Pegasus Books Historical: EuropeanMystery/Thriller CW/TW warnings inside CW/TW – violence, graphic – but, dispassionate – descriptions of autopsies, a nasty incident of animal cruelty towards the end of the book Recently, I treated myself to a trawl through Bikini Books, a legendary secondhand bookstore in Gordon’s Bay, South Africa. It is the kind of shop that gifts you with surprises, if you take the time to look. One such book was The Coroner’s Daughter by Andrew Hughes. It is a whodunnit with the coroner’s daughter, Abigail Lawless, taking up the investigator’s mantle when those in authority aren’t brave enough to wade into uncertain waters. This book gifted me with a fearless female protagonist, a satisfyingly twisty plot and the gentle glow of a romantic subplot. In honour of Abigail’s scientific principles, I present to you… A Treatise in Five Parts on the Glory of The Coroner’s Daughter by Andrew Hughes. Abigail Lawless is one of life’s unashamed individuals and I love it. In support of this claim, I present the opening line of the book: For my eighteenth birthday, Father promised me the hand of a handsome young man,…

Book Beat: Graphic Novels, Nobel Winners, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / October 19, 2019

Welcome to Book Beat! Think of Book Beat as Hide Your Wallet, Part Two! In Hide Your Wallet, we talk about books coming out in a particular month that we really want to read. But there’s more to good books than just new releases! Book Beat aims to highlight other books that we may hear about through friends, social media, or other sources. We could see a gorgeous ad! Or find a new-to-us author on a list of underrated romances! Think of Book Beat as Teen Beat or Tiger Beat, but for books. And no staples to open to get the fold-out poster. A River of Royal Blood Author: Amanda Joy Released: October 29, 2019 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy, Young Adult Series: A River of Royal Blood #1 An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood–a dark and terrible magick that hasn’t been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina,…