Links: Dodgeball, Summer Releases, & More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / June 19, 2019

It’s Wednesday already?! When did that happen? Hope you all are doing well as we settle into some links. An update on reviewer applications, we hope to have it all finished up next month. We’re so very excited to have some new voices and even  more romance coverage. … Tor.com has released a big list of their summer releases! Yay for learning about new, upcoming books. However, my TBR pile isn’t as appreciative. … Looking to move to Ireland? The island of Arranmore is seeking Americans and Australians to become part of their community. There’s an emphasis on remote workers (which, hello!) and they’ve even launched a co-working space. However, I’m always unsure of how remote work factors into getting a visa. … Did you know there’s a Ren Faire rom-com series airing on Lifetime? I didn’t either until I saw this on Frolic.Media! I’m considering giving it a watch. … June is Pride month and there are many corporations that engage in “rainbow-washing.” It’s where companies get on the Pride promotional bandwagon for (mostly) the positive PR, but don’t actively support LGBT+ organizations. If you’re looking to support queer-owned business, this BuzzFeed has a list of 30+ products you…

Historical Romances, Sci-Fi, and More
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / June 19, 2019

Never Love a Highlander Never Love a Highlander by Maya Banks is $1.99! This is a Kindle Daily Deal and today’s deals include a couple other romance titles. This is the third book in the McCabe Trilogy. Readers are divided on the hero. He’s a bit of a jerk in this book. Some felt he had a worthy redemption arc, though others disagreed. Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Never Love a Highlander, the youngest McCabe brother uses sword and seduction to save his clan—and seal his heart. Caelen McCabe’s young, reckless heart nearly destroyed his clan. Now, putting family loyalty above all else, he steps up to marry his older brother’s jilted bride and salvage the uneasy alliance between two clans. While beautiful Rionna McDonald is a fit wife for any man, Caelen trusts no woman, especially not this sweet temptress who torments him with white-hot longing. As the sacrificial lamb in her father’s power game, Rionna will do her duty but vows to protect her heart and her pride from humiliation. Despite everything, though, the heat in…

Some Like It Scandalous by Maya Rodale
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
Articles / June 19, 2019

C- Some Like It Scandalous by Maya Rodale June 18, 2019 · Avon Historical: AmericanRomance Some Like It Scandalous delivers on its premise: childhood enemies-to-lovers, fake engagement, scientist-slash-businesswoman heroine, and a rich and fleshed-out Gilded Age setting. Despite the intriguing premise, I had difficulties with the first half (it drags on far too long before getting to the most interesting parts of the novel), the portrayal of the hero as witty and creative when evidence suggests otherwise, the absence of Daisy’s father when he is responsible for the climactic conflict, and the choice to explore some feminist issues and not others. Daisy Swan and Theodore Prescott the Third are coerced into an engagement by their respective parents. Theodore Prescott the Second is furious at society’s furor over Theo’s involvement in the “Saratoga Scandal” and believes that Theo needs a sensible wife who will keep him in line. No one knows exactly what happened in the Saratoga Scandal, but rumors all agree that an actress, a racehorse, and a torn bed sheet are involved. Theo’s father is adamant: marry Daisy or Theo is cut off. Meanwhile, Daisy’s mother — who despairs of her twenty-five year old unmarried daughter and her complexion…